Latest News

UC Davis Grad Slam competition finalists

The BMEGG has two excellent finalists in the annual UC Davis Grad Slam competition. Congratulations to Rajul Bains and Roshni Shetty!



Rajul Bains
Master's student, Biomedical Engineering Graduate Group
"Microfluidic Tumor-on-a-Chip Model for Cancer Research"


BMEGG Student Research Symposium 2023

Thank you to everyone who attended, presented, judged, and participated in the BMEGG Student Research Symposium on May 12. I would especially like to thank Christal Wintersmith, Sophie Orr, and Ben Mattison for all of their hard work organizing this event. All of the sessions were excellent, and the “BME IN SPACE!” panel was a lot of fun.

Congratulations to the winners of the Best Oral, Poster, and SciCom Video Awards:

BMEGG Student Research Symposium 2022

The 11th annual BMEGG Student Research Symposium was held on Friday, May 13th.  Dr. Katherine Ferrara, Professor of Radiology and the Division Chief for the Molecular Imaging Program at Stanford University, provided the keynote address titled "Career experiences of an Industrial Project Engineer, Biomedical Engineering Department Chair and Department of Radiology Division Chief". Current graduate students delivered 8 podium presentations, 23 poster presentations, and 3 science communication videos (a new category).

Leora Goldbloom-Helzner and Abby Niesen selected as 2022-2023 Professors for the Future Fellow

Leora Goldbloom-Helzner, BME Ph.D. Candidate under the mentorship of Professor Aijun Wang, and Abby Niesen, BME Ph.D. Candidate under the mentorship of Professor Maury Hull, were recently selected as fellows of the UC Davis Professors for the Future Program for 2022-2023. 

This competitive program provides outstanding Ph.D. students and postdoctoral scholars with  leadership-development opportunities and a $3000 stipend. The 2022-2023 cohort will engage in the following activities:

BMEGG students receive 2022 Graduate Student Excellence Awards

Congratulations to Caitlin Banks and Hanna Koster, both Ph.D. Candidates in the Biomedical Engineering Graduate Group, on their selection for the College of Engineering 2022 Graduate Student Excellence Awards.

Excellence in Graduate Student Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Award Caitlin Banks, biomedical engineering

This award recognizes a graduate student who has demonstrated exemplary leadership in promoting equity, diversity and inclusion.

Yiran Wang receives 2021 IEEE NPSS Christopher J. Thompson Student Paper Award

Yiran Wang, Ph.D. Candidate in Biomedical Engineering, received the 2021 IEEE NPSS Christopher J. Thompson Student Paper Award for his paper:

Y Wang, E Berg, Y Zuo, E Li, BA Spencer, RD Badawi, SR Cherry, GB Wang. Voxel-wise kinetic model selection using single-subject deep learning for total-body PET parametric imaging. 2021 Virtual IEEE Nuclear Science Symposium and Medical Imaging Conference (NSS&MIC), October 16-23, 2021.