Dovin Kiernan selected as 2018-2019 Professors for the Future Fellow.

Dovin Kiernan, BME Ph.D. Student under the mentorship of Professor David Hawkins, was recently accepted into the UC Davis Professors for the Future Program for 2018-2019. 

The Professors for the Future program enhances graduate education and postdoctoral training in several ways:

  • ​PFTF fellows work on projects of their own design to enhance the graduate or postdoctoral experience and professional development of their colleagues. These projects are then presented at an end-of-year colloquium, open to all interested members of the university.
  • All fellows receive formal training-in-teaching methods and course design through either the Seminar on College Teaching or self-selected workshops provided by the Center for Educational Effectiveness.
  • PFTF fellows participate in a seminar course on Ethics and Professionalism in the University. 
  • Fellows meet regularly for roundtable panel discussions to promote the participants’ professional development,  intellectual growth and leadership skills
  • Each fellow receives a $3000 stipend. 

In addition to the PFTF Program, Dovin also received the following research awards:

  • American College of Sports Medicine Foundation Doctoral research award ($5,000)
  • Sigma Xi Committee on Grants-in-Aid of Research award ($1,000 toward research expenses).

Congratulations, Dovin!

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.